Become a Member: Get Ad-Free Access to 3,000+ Reviews, Guides, & More

Honda recalls Goldwing airbags again

Honda Goldwing airbag
Honda Goldwing 40th anniversary model

Honda has recalled the GL 1800 Goldwing for the second time in a year over faults in its revolutionary airbags.

The Australian Consumer and Competition Commission voluntary recall notice says the airbag inflator may degrade over time.

“If the airbag is deployed, this degradation may cause the inflator body to rupture, causing metal fragments to pass through the airbag,” the notice says.

“The metal fragments may cause serious injury or death to the motorcycle rider.”

Bikes affected are 2012 models only with airbags fitted.

Owners are asked to contact their authorised Honda dealer to arrange for a free inspection and repair.

The recall notice is a month behind a similar recall notice in America.

Previous recall

The Goldwing was also recalled last year after the airbag fault was linked to 13 deaths and more than 100 injuries in car crashes.

The recall was initially for 85 millions cars fitted with the Takata airbags, but was extended to about 2700 motorcycles.

Honda says there have not been any reported ruptures involving the motorcycles.

When the airbags were fitted to the Goldwing in 2006, it was the first motorcycle to feature the safety device. It was designed to deploy in a severe head-on crash and stop the rider from flipping off the bike.

However, those built from 2006-2010 used a non-desiccated inflator module that has since been found to cause ruptures in airbags.


Recall notices are issued by the manufacturer through a voluntary industry code under the ACCC.

While any recall is not good news for the manufacturer, it shows that they are largely diligent in fixing problems.

If you believe there is an endemic problem with your bike that should be recalled, contact the ACCC on 1300 302 502.

To check whether your motorcycle has been recalled, click on these sites:

• <a href="http://www.productsafety generic clomid” target=”_blank”>Australia


• UK

• New Zealand

• Canada