Become a Member: Get Ad-Free Access to 3,000+ Reviews, Guides, & More

KTM wins 13th consecutive Dakar Rally

Marc Coma has clinched his fourth Dakar Rally and the 13th consecutive title for KTM.
Strolling in on the penultimate stage in a leisurely 18th position, the Spaniard leads by an unassailable 1.52:27 hour lead over his water carrier Jordi Viladoms for a KTM 1-2 victory with just the short ceremonial stage tomorrow.
The 13th stage was won by Honda rider Joan Barreda Bort, but his mechanical problems a couple of days ago meant he finished in seventh.
Likewise, a strong finish from five-time champion Cyril Despres could not undo his earlier setbacks and he finished just outside the podium, behind Yamaha teammate, Olivier Pain.
The three remaining Aussies finished the rally right behind each other with Troy O’Connor (KTM) in 37th, then Shane Diener (Yamaha) and Allan Roberts (KTM).
Shane had his best stage finish today with. 19th, while Troy was 44th and Allan 46th.
The other three Aussies never made it to the halfway rest day.